Old Friends

I ran into some old friends today. Long ago friends. Friends from a different life. Friends I haven’t connected with in over a decade and a half. Good friends. But even as I was there, just a few steps away, I couldn’t bring myself to say Hi. Instead I turned and walk the other way. Why? Perhaps it was my own fear of “What will they think of me now?” or “Maybe they don’t even remember me anymore?” or perhaps it was the message from our social media world that has inundated us and said “I’ll just find them on FB later rather then taking up their time now.” Hmmmm. . . . lost friendships make me sad. But, just in case they do find me on FB, here goes: “Hi!!!!! It’s been so long! How are you doing?!?!?!? I’ve thought about you a lot and wondered what you’ve been up to. How’s your family? I miss seeing your mom and dad and even your little sister. Me? My life is wonderful! I love my family and I’m so proud of my kids. I’m so in love with my family that we are working to adopt two more kids this next year. We’re really excited. But even as blissful as my life it, I’ve always wondered what life would be like if you were still in it. At times I really miss your friendship. Though it was a long time ago, you had a significant impact on my life and helped shape the person I am today. I’m sorry we didn’t connect today. Maybe we’ll have another opportunity in the not so distant future. Dios te bendiga”

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

